Home | Business4WV | News Center
FacebookFollow Secretary Tennant on Twitter Subscribe to Secretary Tennant's Videos on VimeoUstream   Font size: A-  A  A+

 Secretaries of State to Address 2012 Election Issues, Business Identity Theft at NASS 2011 Summer Conference in Daniels, West Virginia


    Washington, DC – From the presidential nominating calendar to new state laws for voting and the future of voting systems, the nation’s Secretaries of State will focus on 2012 election preparations at their 94th annual summer conference on July 10 through 13 at The Glade Springs Resort in Daniels, West Virginia.

    The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) Business Identity Theft Task Force will also meet with federal law enforcement representatives and others who are looking to help states prevent this relatively new and rapidly spreading type of fraud.

    Besides elections and business services, state officials from across the nation will exchange information and programming ideas on state heritage and museums, securities, international relations, social media and other issues of common interest.

    The four-day event will conclude with the induction of the association’s national officers for the 2011-2012 cycle. Alabama Secretary of State Beth Chapman will be sworn in as NASS president on Wednesday, July 13.

        Who:  NASS President Mark Ritchie of Minnesota and Conference Host Secretary Natalie Tennant welcome the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) 2011 Summer Conference to Daniels, West Virginia.

        What:  National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) 2011 Summer Conference

        When:  Sunday, July 10, 2011 - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

        Where: The Resort at Glade Springs - Daniels, West Virginia

To Confirm Attendance:  Please contact Kay Stimson at 202-624-3528 or nass@sso.org

        Full Conference Agenda:  Click here

        Twitter Updates: @nassinfo

        Conference Media Page: Click here

NASS 2010-2011 Executive Board Members:

NASS President: Hon. Mark Ritchie, Minnesota
President-Elect: Hon. Beth Chapman, Alabama
Treasurer: Hon. Ross Miller, Nevada
Secretary: Hon. Kate Brown, Oregon
Eastern Region Vice President: Hon. A. Ralph Mollis, Rhode Island
Southern Region Vice President: Hon. Tre Hargett, Tennessee
Midwestern Region Vice President: Hon. Robin Carnahan, Missouri
Western Region Vice President: Hon. Ben Ysursa, Idaho
Member at Large (NPA Liaison): Hon. John McDonough, Maryland
Member at Large (ACR Liaison): Hon. John Gale, Nebraska

NASS 2010-2011 Committee Co-Chairs:

NASS Elections Committee: Hon. Greg Bell, Utah & Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont
NASS Elections Subcommittee on Presidential Primaries: Hon. Linda McCulloch, Montana & Hon. Sam Reed, Washington
NASS Voter Participation Committee: Hon. Jason Gant, South Dakota & Hon. Denise Merrill, Connecticut
NASS International Relations Committee: Hon. Natalie Tennant, West Virginia & Hon. Mark Hammond, South Carolina
NASS Business Services Committee: Hon. Delbert Hosemann, Jr., Mississippi & Hon. Jeffrey Bullock, Delaware
NASS Company Formation Task Force: Hon. Ross Miller, Nevada & Hon. Charles E. Summers, Maine
NASS State Heritage Committee: Hon. Ken Bennett, Arizona & Hon. Kate Brown, Oregon
NASS Securities Committee: Hon. William Gardner, New Hampshire & Hon. Max Maxfield, Wyoming
NASS Awards & Publications Committee: Hon. Al Jaeger, North Dakota & Hon. Mark Ritchie, Minnesota

NASS Administrative Codes & Registers (ACR) Section National Officers:

President: John Martinez, New Mexico Commission of Public Records
Vice President: Scott Cancellosi, Office of the Arizona Secretary of State
Secretary-Treasurer: Kerry S. Radcliff, Washington State Register

NASS Notary Public Administrators (NPA) Section National Officers:

President: Mike Smith, Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Authority
Vice President: Kathy Sachs, Office of the Kansas Secretary of State
Secretary: Cynthia Cotton, Office of the Louisiana Secretary of State
Treasurer: Maureen Ewing: Office of the Rhode Island Secretary of State
Western Region: Linda Mead, Office of the Washington Secretary of State
Southern Region: Ozie Stallworth, Office of the North Carolina Secretary of State
Eastern Region: Vacant
Mid-Western Region: Mary Feist, Office of the North Dakota Secretary of State


Jake Glance
(304) 951-2672