Charleston, W.Va. – Several bills passed in the 2012 Legislative Session will go into effect in the next several weeks, ranging from the monitoring of scrap metal dealers to those wishing to run as write-in candidates.
Senate Bill 528, which is designed to better monitor who is attempting to sell possibly stolen copper to scrap metal dealers, goes into effect June 8. This bill requires the Secretary of State’s Office to provide an online database of every scrap metal dealer in West Virginia that recycles copper wire. The online database will assist law enforcement officers in tracking down the people who sold the possibly stolen copper wire and prevent this life threatening crime from occurring again. The new law also requires people who recycle more than five catalytic converters to have their fingerprints on file with the recycler, along with a copy of their ID. Catalytic converters contain valuable precious metals like platinum, palladium, and rhodium. There is no additional fee for a recycling center to file this registration.
House Bill 4257, a new law that allows returning military members to register to vote up to the day before an election goes into effect June 8. Secretary of State Natalie E. Tennant’s office supported the bill as part of their continuing push to assist military members and their families exercise their right to vote. Voters who are covered under the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) of 1986 and who are deployed in support of national security functions would be eligible for the late voter registration. Tennant said the number of voters who would be eligible for this option is small, but they represent a very important segment of our population – men and women of the armed services and their families.
House Bill 4238 establishes procedures for participants of the Address Confidentiality Program (ACP), which is administered by the Secretary of State’s Office, to be placed on a special list of absentee voters. The ACP is designed to provide a secure mailing address for victims of domestic violence or sexual assault who wish to keep their current address private. This bill allows ACP participants to sign up to securely receive an absentee ballot without revealing their current address. This bill goes into effect on June 4.
Senate Bill 619, which reduces the fee business owners must pay if they file their annual report with the Secretary of State’s Office after the filing deadline, goes into effect July 1. The late fee to file an annual report for a West Virginia corporation, limited partnership, limited liability company, foreign corporation, and foreign limited liability company is now just $50 – lowered from $100. The late filing fee for a non-profit corporation has been lowered from $100 to $25.
House Bill 4403, which changes the filing deadline for certified write-in candidates, goes into effect on June 7. Senate Bill 628, which allows fund raising for state executive party headquarters, goes into effect on June 8. House Bill 4451, which ensures county executive committees have control of designating the persons who serve as ballot commissioner, goes into effect on June 8. House Bill 4279, which allows municipalities to stagger the terms of elected officers, goes into effect June 14.