Home | Business4WV | News Center
FacebookFollow Secretary Tennant on Twitter Subscribe to Secretary Tennant's Videos on VimeoUstream   Font size: A-  A  A+

 National Association of Secretaries of State Names Committee Leadership


    Washington, DC – The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) today announced its new slate of committee chairs for the 2012-2013 cycle.  
    "This year's committee leadership represents a broad and diverse array of state officials with a strong commitment to our association and its mission," said NASS President and Nevada Secretary of State Ross J. Miller, who appointed the bipartisan slate of state officials. "I look forward to working with them on major initiatives that will support our shared interests in elections, business services, state heritage, international relations, securities regulation and other important areas."
    The following members have agreed to serve as NASS committee leaders during the 2012-2013 cycle:
Standing Committee on Elections
Hon. A. Ralph Mollis, Rhode Island
Hon. Jason Gant, South Dakota
Elections Committee Task Force on the Disposition of EAC Duties
Hon. Ken Bennett, Arizona
Hon. Natalie Tennant, West Virginia

Elections Subcommittee on Presidential Primaries
Hon. Brian Kemp, Georgia
Hon. William Gardner, New Hampshire
Standing Committee on Voter Participation
Hon. Denise Merrilll, Connecticut
Hon. Matt Schultz, Iowa
Standing Committee on Business Services
Hon. Scott Gessler, Colorado
Hon. Kenneth McClintock, Puerto Rico
NASS Company Formation Task Force of the Business Services Committee
Hon. Charlie Summers, Maine
Hon. Natalie Tennant, West Virginia
Standing Committee on International Relations
Hon. Cynthia Brock-Smith, District of Columbia
Hon. Hope Andrade, Texas
Standing Committee on Securities
Hon. Bill Galvin, Massachusetts
Hon. Delbert Hosemann, Jr., Mississippi

Standing Committee on State Heritage
Hon. Tom Schedler, Louisiana
Hon. Mark Ritchie, Minnesota
Standing Committee on Awards
Hon. Al Jaeger, North Dakota
Hon. Ross Miller, Nevada
    Committee leadership assignments are based upon member preferences and experience, as well as criteria established by NASS bylaws. Each NASS committee has bipartisan leadership, with two co-chairs representing different political parties. This year's committee co-chairs will serve until July 2013.  Member sign-up for NASS committees runs through August 18, 2012. 

    NASS provides committee descriptions and rosters at the following link: http://www.nass.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=315&Itemid=369
    About NASS: Founded in 1904, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the nation's oldest, nonpartisan professional organization for state officials.  Members included the 50 states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa and Puerto Rico.  NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy.  The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services, and digital archiving, as well as several well-established awards programs.


Jake Glance
(304) 558-6000