Home | Business4WV | News Center
FacebookFollow Secretary Tennant on Twitter Subscribe to Secretary Tennant's Videos on VimeoUstream   Font size: A-  A  A+

 Republican, Democrat Ballot Positions Set For 2011 Special Gubernatorial Primary Election (Video Included)


    Charleston, W.Va. – The ballot positions for the Democrats and Republicans running in the special gubernatorial primary have been set. 

    The drawing took place Sunday in the Secretary of State’s Office, minutes after the list of candidates was certified. 

    To set the ballot positions, two Democratic county clerks and two Republican county clerks drew numbered balls out of a hopper. Candidates were assigned a ball number based on the order in which their candidacy paperwork was received by the Secretary of State. 

    Republican county clerks Vera McCormick of Kanawha County and Brian Wood of Putnam County drew for the Democratic ballot positions. 

    Democratic county clerks Sue Morgan of Pleasants County and Karen Cole of Cabell County drew for the Republican ballot positions. 

    The names will appear on the Republican primary ballot in this order: Bill Maloney; Ralph William Clark; Larry Faircloth; Mark A. Sorsaia; Clark Barnes; Cliff Ellis; Betty Ireland; Mitch B. Carmichael. 

    The names will appear on the Democratic primary ballot in this order: Earl Ray Tomblin; Jeffrey V. Kessler; John D. Perdue; Rick Thompson; Arne Moltis; Natalie E. Tennant. 

    The Mountain Party exercised their legal option to choose their nominee via a party convention.  The name of the Mountain Party nominee will be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office by May 21. 

    More information on the 2011 special gubernatorial election can be found here on the Secretary of State’s website.


Jake Glance
(304) 558-6000