Charleston, W.Va. -- As required by West Virginia Code, any corporation, limited liability company, professional limited liability company, voluntary association or limited partnership that is authorized to transact business in the State of West Virginia must file an annual report each year with the Secretary of State. The filing period for limited liability companies and professional limited liability companies is between January 1st and June 1st each year, without being assessed a late fee. The filing period for corporations, limited partnerships, and voluntary associations is between May 1st and September 1st, each year without being assessed a late fee.
Although the statutory deadline has passed, business owners may still file their annual report, but the fee is now $125 ($100 late fee-$25 annual report fee).
If the report and filing fee is not received by November 1, 2009, organizations will be administratively dissolved or revoked. Once an organization is revoked they cannot continue to transact business without going through a reinstatement process.
The Secretary of State has mailed a final notice to all organizations that were required to file an annual report with the Secretary of State but have yet to do so.
Online Filing is Available!
The Secretary of State’s Office would like to encourage all business owners to take advantage of filing their company’s report through the State’s online portal “Business for WV”, as it may become a mandatory way of filing in the near future.
As of August 24, 2009 a total of 13,827 organizations have taken advantage of filing online; approximately 8,360 more than had filed online last year at that time.
Anyone wanting to file a report online may access the “business4wv” website and complete the process at their convenience, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
# # #