
CERTIFICATE OF CANCELLATION 
OF AUTHORITY OF A FOREIGN 
LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY 

Natalie E. Tennant Penney Barker, Manager 
Secretary of State Corporations Division 
1900 Kanawha Blvd E. Tel: (304)558-8000 
Bldg 1, Suite 157-K Fax: (304)558-8381 
Charleston, WV 25305 Website: www.wvsos.com 
 E-mail: business@wvsos.com 
FILE ONE ORIGINAL  
(Two if you want a filed Office Hrs: Monday - Friday 
stamped copy returned to you) 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. ET  
FEE: $25.00 
 

Pursuant to West Virginia Code §31B-10-1008: 
 
1. The name of the limited liability _______________________________________________ 

company is: 
 
and is organized in the State of: _______________________________________________ 

 
2. The address to which correspondence _______________________________________________ 

relating to this cancellation is to be sent: 
    _______________________________________________ 

 

 
3. The effective date of the cancellation of  the date the certificate of cancellation is filed 

authority of the above named limited  
liability company is:   the following date:  ________________________ 
     (requested date may not be earlier than filing nor later 
      than 90 days after filing in our office) 
 

4. Contact name and phone number to reach in case of a problem with filing: (Optional, however, 
listing one may help to avoid a return or rejection of filing if there is a problem with the document.) 
 
____________________________________________  ____________________________________ 
Contact Name       Phone Number 
 
Business e-mail address, if any: _______________________________________________________ 
 

5. I, the undersigned, hereby certify that: (1) I am authorized to act on behalf of the limited liability 
company in this matter; (2) this foreign limited liability company has ceased to do business in West 
Virginia; and (3) all responsibilities for filing with the Department of Tax and Revenue and any other 
State agencies have been completed. 
 
____________________________________________  _________________________   
Name (print)      Title/Capacity 
 
____________________________________________    _________________________ 

       Signature*       Date 
 
 
*Important Legal Notice Regarding Signature: Per West Virginia Code §31B-2-209. Liability for false 
statement in filed record. If a record authorized or required to be filed under this chapter contains a false statement, 
one who suffers loss by reliance on the statement may recover damages for the loss from a person who signed the 
record or caused another to sign it on the person's behalf and knew the statement to be false at the time the record 
was signed. 
 
 
 
Form LLF-9  Issued by the Office of the Secretary of State  Revised 5/13 

http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/ChapterEntire.cfm?chap=31b&art=10&section=1008#10
http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/ChapterEntire.cfm?chap=31b&art=2&section=209#02


 
 

Instructions for filing Certificate of Cancellation of a Foreign Limited Liability Company 
 
A limited liability company may file a certificate of cancellation when the company desires to cease doing 
business in West Virginia.  Remember, all filings and payments required by the Department of Tax and 
Revenue and any other State agency, such as Department of Employment Security or Workers 
Compensation, must be completed before the company’s responsibilities and liabilities to the State are 
completed. 
 
A company which is dissolved in its home state should immediately complete all filings with other 
state agencies and file a certificate of cancellation in West Virginia. 
 
 
CERTIFICATE OF CANCELLATION 
 
Complete all sections of the form. 
 
Section 1.  If the name used in West Virginia is a trade name, please list both the name registered in your 
home state and the trade name used in West Virginia. 
 
Section 2.  Enter the address where you can receive correspondence relating to this cancellation. 
 
Section 3.  Unless another date is given, the effective date will be the date of filing in our office. Note: 
The effective date CANNOT be earlier than filing nor LATER than 90 days AFTER filing in the Office 
of Secretary of State. 
 
Section 4.  List a contact person to reach regarding the cancellation. This is optional, however, listing one 
may help avoid return or rejection of your document if something is wrong. 
 
Section 5.  List the name of the person signing the document and the title or capacity in which he/she is 
signing. 
 
 
Filing Fee: 
 

Submit $25, payable to the West Virginia Secretary of State and one original application (two if you 
would like a “filed” stamped copy returned to you) to the address on the top of the application. 
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