Home | Business4WV | News Center
FacebookFollow Secretary Tennant on Twitter Subscribe to Secretary Tennant's Videos on VimeoUstream   Font size: A-  A  A+

 Businesses Owners Can Begin Filing Annual Reports, Annual Notices Starting January 1, 2011

1/3/2011

    Charleston, W.Va. - It’s time to file annual reports for limited liability companies, professional limited liability companies, corporations, limited partnerships and voluntary associations.

    The newest online filing availability is for insurance companies to file their Annual Attorney in Fact filings and for WV limited liability partnerships to file their annual notices. 

    The filing period is January 1 through 5:00 PM on June 30, 2011. 

    As required by West Virginia Code every registered limited liability company, professional limited liability company, corporation, limited partnership business trust or voluntary association that is authorized to transact business in the State of West Virginia as of and prior to December 31, 2010 must file an annual report and pay the $25 filing fee each year with the Secretary of State. 

    If the annual report and payment is not received and filed by the due date the organization will be assessed a $100 penalty in addition to the $25 annual report fee. 

    Beginning January 1, 2011 every registered West Virginia limited liability partnership that is authorized to transact business in the State of West Virginia as of and prior to December 31, 2010 must file an annual notice and pay the $500 filing fee each year with the Secretary of State. The filing period begins January 1 and must be filed by 5pm on June 30th, 2011. 

    Beginning January 1, 2011 every registered insurance company that is authorized to transact business in the State of West Virginia as of and prior to December 31, 2010 must file an annual attorney-in-fact filing and pay the $25 filing fee each year with the Secretary of State. The filing period begins January 1 and must be filed by 5pm on June 30, 2011.

Online Filing, Online Filing, Online Filing…… Now Available! 

    The Secretary of State’s Office would like to encourage business owners to take advantage of filing their company’s report through the State’s online portal “Business for WV” (www.business4wv.com).  

    Online filing may be mandatory next year. 

    When filing online you will need to have your PIN (personal identification number) that is located at the top of the annual report that was mailed to the organization. Anyone wanting to file a report online may access the “business4wv” website and complete the process at their convenience, 24 hours a day, and 7 days a week. 

    Online filing saves time and provides immediate and accurate integration of customers’ updates into the Secretary of State’s database. Filers will receive electronic confirmation when the Secretary of State’s Office approves the filing. 

    Any questions concerning filing annual reports can be answered by a staff member of the Business and Licensing Division of the Secretary of State’s Office at 304-558-8000.

Contact:

Penney Barker
(304) 558-8000
pbarker@wvsos.com